bad skin blues

This is the first step I’m taking in chronicling my acne story. Over the course of the next few weeks, or months (who knows), I’m going to be talking about my acne and skin care successes and failures. Here goes nothing…

I have bad skin. There’s really no way around it. My skin complaints include, but are not limited to: oily, acne prone, cystic acne, enlarged pores, blackheads, fine lines (around my eyes), wrinkles (on my forehead), hyperpigmentation, and scars.

acneupdate

These are the most recent photos I have of my bare skin. You can see how it looked a month ago here. My skin is much improved since the beginning of this year, but obviously it’s not perfect. Currently I have 2 or 3 active pimples (down from 10-15!). Most of the spots you see in the pictures is hyperpigmentation. This is a step in the right direction when trying to conquer adult acne.

Adult acne is a cruel joke. I had moderate acne when I was a high school student but a simple skin care regimen that included a prescription topical took care of that. Now, in my early twenties, acne has reared it’s ugly head yet again. The problem with adult acne is that a simple skin-care regimen is not going to cut it. Adult acne is closely tied to hormonal fluctuations and imbalances. So the key to reducing acne and improving the skin is to control the hormones. Easier said than done…

I have relentlessly researched how to balance female hormones related to adult acne. With hundreds of hours of research under my belt these are the changes I’ve made in my life to balance my hormones:

  • Staying hydrated: I drink 3-4 litres of water each day. I also drink a lot of green teas and herbal teas. Drinking water can help flush toxins out of the body.
  • Exercising: In the past I would have bursts of activity that last for 3-4 days and then I’d sit and vegetate for 5 days. Recently I have been trying to do moderate to intense activity every other day. I usually go to the gym or do a home workout.
  • Cutting down on sugar: This one kills me the most. I love chocolate and candy bars. I could literally eat them everyday and be so happy. However, sugar creates a stress response in the body. This stress response contributes to the wacky hormone levels that create ugliness on my face. So I had to break up with candy. I do still treat myself occasionally. Maybe 2-3 times a week. My goal is to cut treats down to once a week.
  • Sleeping: It’s hard to get adequate sleep. Everyone is well aware that getting 6-8 hours of sleep each night is good for you. Unfortunately, as a nurse, there are some nights when I’m getting zero hours of sleep. To combat this I’ve been letting myself sleep as much as humanly possible on my days off and then just sucking it up on the days and nights I work. So when I average out my sleep I’m still getting between 6-8 hours of sleep each night.

Each of these strategies is aimed at reducing physical, emotional and physiological stress. The less stressed I am, the less acne I will have.

Stay tuned, soon I’ll be sharing the skin care routine that has made the biggest impact on my skin.

Did you like this post? Let me know in the comments. I’d also love to hear some of your lifestyle beauty tips!

25 comments

  1. Can’t wait to learn more about your skin care regime so I can steal your research and incorporate it into my life! xo

  2. This is really interesting. I’m in my twenties and have acne, but it hasn’t gotten worse since my teens (thankfully, because it would be hard to top that). I’d be interested to see what else you do to fight acne. Keep the posts coming!

  3. First off, you’re beautiful and thank you for posting this. I too have had to deal with bad skin since I was 16. I broke out a lot and now I’m left with some mild pitted acne scarring. It definitely makes me feel self conscious . I actually had Fraxel Restore done which has helped but I still have a ways to go. Once again, thank you! You’re not alone . You have given me the strength to share my story. Keep Us updated

  4. I have battled with bad skin for many years and finally had a huge improvement when a dermatologist suggest that I had rosacea and prescribed spiralactone (a water pill) that changed my life. Good luck!

  5. Amazing blog!! These tips are very helpful and interesting and I think these posts can be very helpful! I can’t wait to see the journey 🙂 Drinking water and staying hydrated is so important. Good job on the 3-4 liters a day!! That is impressive 🙂 Washing your pillow case helps too and also sticking to silk pillow cases as I think they are slightly better than other materials for the skin 🙂

  6. I too suffered from genetic cyctic acne, it started slowly in grade 6 but it got worse every year up till grade 12 (yes clear skin for grad!), and I used to be on a lot of different soaps and medications (consisting of tons of different kinds antibiotics and topical treatments). However, university started and my acne was triggered again and it was worse than before, at first I thought it was to do with the stress of being a new university student but it continued getting worse. My dermatologist then told me that he had one final treatment, for my skin, which was accutane. I did a lot of research on the drug, and read many horror stories, as well as some miracles. I finally just made up my decision and went for it! And I can tell you after about 7 months on accutane, my skin is now AMAZING! I never wear any makeup and everyone is always complimenting on my skin!

    Another thing I think helps me maintain my skin is I now make and use my own natural skin care products rather than buying soaps, moisturizer and scrubs!

    Hope you good luck on your journey to clear skin,
    you can msg me if you have any questions 😀

  7. Very informative post. The best thing about these tips are they can ne applied to anyone to maintain healthy skin!

    Good luck on your journey to healthy skin 🙂

  8. I have struggled with acne since I was 13 and just this year (I am 24 now) I have found two amazing products that have worked wonders on my skin… I use tamanu oil on my face every night before I go to bed except one night a week I use rose hip oil instead. I got them at Whole Foods. I would give it 2-4 weeks, but you should see a ton of improvement. If you find that your current routine does not give you the results you want after a while, this is definitely worth a try. I know it sounds weird to put oil on oily skin, but it has given me incredible results!

    1. I love incorporating certain oils into my skin care routine. Oils applied to the face help to regulate oil production. I have never tried tamanu oil though. Recently I have been trying Argan and Jojoba oils. Thanks for the new tip! I’ll have to check it out.

  9. Hi there! I would like to nominate your blog for the Liebster award! I enjoyed your blog and think others would too. Please take the time to accept this award this is a great way for fellow bloggers to get to know each other and for new viewers to discover your blog.

    I apologized ahead of time if you already have this award. This award calls for bloggers with less than 200 followers. To be honest I’ve seen bloggers with way more followers still accepting the award and not all blogs state how many followers are on it.

    By accepting the award please go to this link:
    http://beautysins.net/2014/03/03/liebster-award/

    – Ncy ❤

  10. Respect to you for being brave and posting about this and sharing tips and tricks with those who need it. Love ur blog and u are really beautiful! 💕

  11. I love this post. Will helps lots of women facing the same issues. I don’t have the skin issues much like yours but I do have acne a bit and sensitive skin. The one thing I found to get rid of bad skin problems (not all but helpful) is pure black african soap. I swear by this stuff and call it my miracle worker. Give it a try, it’s amazing. Oh and I nominated you for a Liebster Award. . .whoot whoot. http://momerrellsays.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/liebster-award-thanks/?preview=true&preview_id=672&preview_nonce=79027ef4cf&post_format=standard

Leave a comment